UNCG Home | IPC Home | IPC eNewsworthy | Contact us
Volume 12, Edition 7: April 2013 *20 year Anniversary*

Associate Provost Corner

Top Story

 Faculty Features

 Visitors & Scholars

 Special Programs

 Student Highlights

 International Students


 Staff Stories

 UNCG & Beyond

 Upcoming Events

 Contact us

 Print this Issue

Give to IPC


Study Abroad Pre-Departure Orientation
International exchange students share their experiences and perceptions of American culture with UNCG students preparing to go abroad

IPC held the Study Abroad Pre-Departure Orientation for students going abroad in Fall 2013 on Saturday, March 23, in the Sullivan Science Building. Approximately 110 students were in attendance. The first part of the day consisted of various workshops on logistical information (topics covered included passports, plane tickets, and accessing money), health and safety issues, and intercultural skills. Students also participated in a simulation activity of cultural adjustment and culture shock. In the afternoon, two students currently abroad, Janesha Hassaram (studying in Sweden) and Brandon McCathern (studying in Spain), joined the orientation attendees virtually via “Google Hang-Out” and shared their experiences of their time abroad. Following this session, a panel of international exchange students talked about their study abroad experiences in the US and the various cultural differences between the US and their home countries. All students then took part in country-specific workshops in which IPC invited UNCG faculty and staff, former study abroad students, or international students to provide information specific to their country and school.

Owing to the increasing number of students going abroad, IPC staff arranged for the first part of the day to be in a "conference style" format in which students rotated through three concurrently running workshops. The format was a great success, and many students and staff felt it was an effective way to keep such a large group of students engaged while providing students with the essential information they needed.

We would like to thank the following UNCG faculty and staff members for assisting with country-specific workshops: Bryan Toney (Director of the North Carolina Entrepreneurship Center; assisted with Belgium workshop), Dr. Chiaki Takagi (Lecturer, Japanese and Asian Studies; assisted with Japan workshop), Dr. Seung Hyun Lee (Assistant Professor, Media Studies; assisted with South Korea workshop), Wendy Jones-Worden (Academic Advisor for Study Abroad and Exchange Programs; assisted with Spain workshop). We would also like to thank Steve Flynn (Coordinator of Prestigious International/National Fellowships), who facilitated the parent information session. Thank you!

Interested in studying abroad? Don’t wait! Call our office (336) 334-5404 to schedule an appointment with one of our advisors. You can also visit the SAE website for more information.

Study Abroad Nominations: Summer/Fall 2013

The International Programs Center would like to congratulate all of the 106 students who were selected to participate in an exchange program for the 2013 Summer and Fall semesters—congratulations! After completing their applications, submitting all required documents to the Study Abroad & Exchange office at IPC, and undergoing a group interview with staff and faculty members, these students have truly earned their spot on the nominations list.

Australian Catholic University: Gladis Romero
James Cook University: Candace Robinson
Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology: Spencer Auten, Cameron Covitz, Amber Guttersen
University of Sydney: Aaron Jethrow

Plantjin Hogeschool (GWIK): Jessica Ornat
Louvain School of Management: Dominic Carelli, Sarah Farlow

University of Botswana: Latiqua Hardy, Jalisa Horne

Brock University: Kyle Fitzsimmons

Beijing Normal University: Timothy Smith
Chinese University of Hong Kong: Cynthia Cukiernik

Aarhus University: Brenna Barnett, Abigail Lyons
University of Copenhagen: Nour Bannout Luna

University of Jyvaskyla: Laura Gervais
University of Oulu: Kyla Stingley

ISEP Savoie (Summer): Brittany Sneller
Jean Moulin - Lyon 3 University: Jessica Aguirre, Emily Doyle, Elizabeth Hornshuh, Ashley McLamb, Nicole Mitchell, Sabrina Preston, Brittany Sneller
University of Savoie (Summer): Kayla Jackson
University of Rennes 2: Adamou Saidou, Crystal Tate

University of Konstanz: Heidi Andringa, Erik Lamb
University of Mannheim: Karen Absher, Annie Childress, Brandon Eav, Schuyler Hunt, Hailey Johnson, Ashley Kiser, Cynthia Marmolejo, Nathan Martin, Candyce Miales, Lyndsey Peterson
University of Stuttgart: Ameya Patel

ISEP Ghana: Kendra Woodfolk

LIUC – Università Carlo Cattaneo: Gerard Castagnet
Lorenzo de Medici: Alicia McMahan
Lorenzo de Medici – Florence (Summer): Kelsey Wiggs

Seinan Gakuin University: Nicolette Johnson, Steven Worrell (Summer)

University of Malta: Christopher Griffin

Autonomous University of Queretaro (Summer): Christopher Doss, George Matthews
Technological University of Queretaro: Jessica King, Jocelyn Ortiz, Rita Walson, Aziza Ward
Universidad Popular Autónoma del Estado de Puebla: Brandon Yates

Massey University: Kelsey Budine

University of Wroclaw: Timothy Potkay

Sungkyunkwan University (Summer): Muhuba Mohamed, Telung Tan
Yonsei University: Tuan Vo

University of Cape Town: Jacob Myers, Tessa Nayowith, Holly Riley
University of Stellenbosch: Alexandria Harris, Natasha Tyson

Ramon Llull University – Barcelona (GWIK): Mary Adolf
Universidad de Salamanca (Summer): Carolyn Barbee
Universidad de Salamanca: Alexandra Brown
Universidad de Extremadura – Caceres: Alexandra Hillen
University of Castilla La Mancha – Cuenca: Emily Cahan, Sasha Moore, Juan Vergara
University of Castilla La Mancha – Toldeo: Stephanie Brabec

Malmö University: Michael Howell, Abriana Pastrana

Yuan Ze University: Alexia Foy, Tiffany Whiteside

Yeditepe University: Chelsea Kennedy, Ahmed Sheikh-Issa, Daniel Wirtheim

Manchester Metropolitan University: Sandra Arriaza, Kirubel Aysheshim, Ryan Betot, Jacob Bridges, Keyrols Ikladuos, Shanice Knott, Larissa Miller, Annelise Tikkanen
Plymouth University: Lisa Franck, Kaylen Garrett, Sharon Romang, Dorian Thompson
University of Hull: Louisa Appiah, Rukudzo Muhomba
University of Leicester: Brittany Blackshure, Veronica Diaz
University of Strathclyde: Maureen Fischer, Jessie Labell
University of Trinity St. David: Ariel Neal, Kelsey Stewart, William Zang
University of Ulster: Christina Ratley

Universidad de Montevideo: Hope Baker, Brandy Wallace

Congratulations to all!

Considering study abroad? Mark your calendars! The deadline to apply to study abroad for Spring 2014 semester is September 14, 2013.

Previous Page Next Page

Do something bigger altogether

Previous editions:

March 2013
January/February 2013
December 2012
November 2012
October 2012
September 2012

Archived Editions